Home States Delhi Rajya Sabha election result: Counting halted in UP-Karnataka

Rajya Sabha election result: Counting halted in UP-Karnataka


(G.N.S) Dt. 23
New Delhi
– BJP’s Saroj Pandey wins from Chhattisgarh, Congress candidate Abhishek Manu Singhvi elected from West Bengal
Counting of votes for 26 Rajya Sabha seats in seven states including crucial Uttar Pradesh is underway. States where counting is underway are: Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Karnataka, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Kerala and Telangana. For 59 Rajya Sabha seats, 33 candidates from 10 states were declared elected unopposed on March 15.
Voting for the Rajya Sabha elections 2018 in Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Karnataka, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, and Telangana commenced on Friday. In Karnataka, there were allegations of “illegal voting” by Congress MLAs. Meanwhile, in a setback for Mayawati, BSP MLA Anil Singh said that he voted for the BJP. With the drubbing the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) received recently in the state bypolls for the Gorakhpur and Phulpur seats, there is only one question hanging in the air: Can the BJP snatch a ninth seat or will the newfound bonhomie between former arch-rivals Akhilesh Yadav-led Samajwadi Party and Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party prevail? In UP, the SP and the Congress are backing Mayawati’s candidate. The SP is keen to ensure a clean vote transfer because that could ease the way to an alliance with the BSP in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections against the Narendra Modi-BJP electoral juggernaut. In West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee is said to be supporting the Congress’ candidate.
Counting in Uttar Pradesh has been held up over a complaint lodged by the Samajwadi Party and the Bahujan Samaj Party. The two parties have complained that Nitin Aggrawal (SP MLA) and Anil Singh (BSP MLA) did not show their votes to their respective party’s agent. The Election Commission is currently holding a meeting on the issue and has sought CCTV footage from the counting centres.
However, in a jolt to the Bahujan Samaj Party, which is counting each vote to get its lone candidate Bhim Rao Ambedkar elected to the Upper House of Parliament, its legislator Anil Singh on Friday voted for BJP candidates in the Rajya Sabha polls currently underway in Uttar Pradesh. The Rajya Sabha will have 58 vacancies in April. For the 58 Rajya Sabha seats to be filled, 33 candidates from 10 states have been elected unanimously. Meanwhile, voting for the remaining 25 seats is being held today in six states of Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Karnataka, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Telangana.
The first result from today’s set of Rajya Sabha elections has come in. The Bharatiya Janata Party’s Saroj Pandey was declared the winner of the Rajya Sabha poll in Chhattisgarh. She beat Congress’s Lekhram Sahu, media reported.
Prominent candidates in the fray include Finance Minister Arun Jaitley (from Uttar Pradesh), Union Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad (from Bihar) and Union Minister of Health and Family Welfare JP Nadda (from Himachal Pradesh).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here