Home States Other State Jai Ram Thakur sworn in as 14th CM of Himachal

Jai Ram Thakur sworn in as 14th CM of Himachal


(G.N.S) Dt. 27
A new Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government led by 52-year-old Jai Ram Thakur, a five-time MLA from Seraj in Mandi district, was sworn in at the historic Ridge Maidan in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP top brass in morning.
Thakur, a gentle face of the party, had emerged as party’s choice for the chief minister, after Prem Kumar Dhumal, lost his election from Sujanpur in the recently held assembly polls in the state.
The new cabinet cleared by the party’s core group and high command has a number of new faces and many surprises as well. The names include Suresh Bhardwaj (four-time Shimla MLA and former party president), Mohinder Singh (seven-time MLA and former minister from Mandi district) apart from Anil Sharma, a former Congress minister.
The first-timers who have secured a cabinet berth include Ram Lal Markande, a tribal elected from Lahaul Spiti, Govind Thakur (three-time Manali MLA), Dr Rajiv Sejal (three-time MLA from Kasauli), Virender Kanwar (four-time MLA from Kutlehar, Una), Bikaram Thakur (four-time MLA from Jaswan, Kangra), and Vipin Parmar (three-time MLA from Sulah and a loyalist of BJP senior Shanta Kumar in Kangra).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here