Home Sports IPL: 5 players who won maximum matches for their teams

IPL: 5 players who won maximum matches for their teams


(G.N.S) DT.18

The Indian Premier League has produced several match-winners, who have helped their side win crucial encounters.

In the last decade, players from Chris Gayle to Yusuf Pathan have revelled for their franchises after some splendid match winning performances.

Going into IPL 11, here is a look at some of the players that made a significant impact in matches for their teams.

West Indies batsman Chris Gayle has been IPL’s most charismatic player over the years. He has received a lot of love and attention from Indian fans.

The powerful hitter has scored 3,626 runs in his glittering IPL career that includes a record five hundreds.

Gayle’s prowess helped him win plenty of games for his team and he has scooped a record 18 ‘Man-of-the-Match’ awards.

South African stalwart AB de Villiers has been cricket’s one of the most loved and respected personalities.

With an array of shots in his kitty, he has played like a champion in the IPL.

From his brilliance in the field to consistency with the bat, AB has made a huge difference for RCB.

The player has won 16 ‘Man-of-the-Match’ awards till date.

One of the most significant players in the IPL, Pathan has won three titles in 10 seasons.

A player, who shined for the Rajasthan Royals in the maiden season, became a vital player for Kolkata Knight Riders.

His match-winning skills have been constant over the years.

Pathan has bagged 16 ‘Man-of-the-Match’ awards in IPL, the most by an Indian player.

David Warner’s dominance in the IPL has been effective.

A player with 500+ runs in each of last four seasons and two-time Orange Cap winner, Warner has been a serious match-winner.

He has led Sunrisers Hyderabad in a stellar fashion and has won them a lot of games.

With 15 ‘Man-of-the-Match’ awards to his name, Warner has shown the vitality of his aggression.

Four IPL titles in 10 years, Rohit Sharma has played a pivotal role for both Deccan Chargers and Mumbai Indians.

One of the sweetest strikers of the ball, Sharma has played some commendable innings over the years. Sharma is also one of the most successful captains in IPL.

The top-order batsman has gone on to win 15 ‘Man-of-the-Match’ awards and will be seeking more.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here