Home Sports India loses openers early in 3rd Test match against South Africa

India loses openers early in 3rd Test match against South Africa


(G.N.S) Dt. 24
India have already lost the the 3-match Test series 2-0
Ajinkya Rahane makes a return to the playing XI with this match
At the Wanderers, India have never conceded a Test match and won a fabulous contest in 2006 and came close to another one in 2013
Pujara off the mark: 54 balls and first run on the board for Pujara. Talk about being patient.
DROPPED: Life for Virat Kohli. Bouncer from Kagiso Rabada and Kohli takes on with the pull, mistimes, bottom edge loops up in to short mid-on, but Vernon Philander is slow to react and fails to reach the ball. Kohli dropped on 11.
VIJAY GONE : So the Indian openers are back in the hut. Murali Vijay was flirting with danger chasing the wide deliveries and Kagiso Rabada, in his first over, induces an edge off Vijay off the wide delivery – second catch for Quinton de Kock. India 13/2
REVIEW: Fantastic delivery from Philander, inswinger and Pujara is trapped in front. On-field umpire’s call is not out, but SA opt for review. Umpire’s call on the hawk-eye, so Pujara is safe and SA retain their review
Rahul gone for 0: Veron Philander draws the first blood with the wicket of KL Rahul for a duck. India 7/1. Length ball nipped back in and Rahul gets an inside edge, Quinton de Kock obliges behind the stumps
Morne Morkel opens the proceedings for South Africa. Murali Vijay and KL Rahul openers for India. And Vijay is off the mark with a steaky boundary past the slip cordon and then a straight drive for another boundary in the first over.
TOSS : India win toss and opt to bat – India playing with 5 seamers – Ajinkya Rahane in, Bhuvi in
South Africa (Playing XI): Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis(c), Quinton de Kock(w), Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel, Lungisani Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo
India (Playing XI): Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Parthiv Patel(w), Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here